University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Lafayette Higher Education

Acadiana is home to higher education institutions that provide students with access to strong two-year, four-year or graduate-level programs. In addition to these local options, a number of two-year colleges and four-year universities are located near the area and provide students with a diverse range of options that are also close to home.

The University of Louisiana system is one of the nation’s largest public systems for higher education with nine universities located across Louisiana that collectively offer more than 750 academic degree programs. In Acadiana, this system is anchored by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette (UL Lafayette), one of the largest public four-year university in the state with nationally respected programs that include computer science and nursing.

South Louisiana Community College is one of the state’s fastest growing two-year colleges, represented by eight campuses across Acadiana that provide students with a variety of degree opportunities, professional certifications and technical training for some of the region’s most in-demand industries and occupations.

Other nearby higher education institutions range from Louisiana State University and Baton Rouge Community College in Louisiana’s capital city to McNeese State University and SOWELA Technical Community College in nearby Lake Charles.